$105.00 Per person (Non-refundable payment is required at time of registration due to OPOTA regulations)
Age: 18yrs & older
Duration: 4hrs (per Ohio law this class is 2hrs of classroom & 2hrs on the range) Class time is 0700-1100 Any late arrivals, regardless of time, will not be permitted to attend class.
YOU ARE NOT CONFIRMED IN THIS CLASS UNTIL YOU EMAIL YOUR MOST RECENT, UNEXPIRED, PRIVATE SECURITY/OPOTA CERTIFICATE TO Lori@lepd.com
Date: Click Here to Schedule
These Forms Must be Printed, Completed (Personal Information Only-Commander & Class Number Completed On-Site) and Brought with you on the day of your class: OPOTA Forms
- Class Materials>
- Range Fees
- Eye & Ear protection
- Ohio Police Officers Training Academy Private Security Certificate
This class fulfills all requirements to obtain your Ohio Private Security re-qualification Certificate. As mandated by Ohio law, students successfully passing the class, will be able to demonstrate the following:
- Proficiently name, verbalize and demonstrate the rules for safe handling of a handgun & proper storage practices of both handguns & ammunition
- Demonstrate and explain how to handle firearms & ammunition in a safe manner
- Demonstrate the knowledge, skills and attitude necessary to shoot a handgun in a safe manner
- Proper handling of firearms, range safety and how to properly load & unload a handgun
- Basic marksmanship
In addition to these skills, students will be taught the basic principles of Ohio CHL law and will be taught how to handle interaction with law enforcement. Instruction is provided by a Ohio Police Officers Training Academy (OPOTA) Certified Instructor with years of practical experience in carrying a firearm & in law enforcement.
- Absolutely no ammunition is allowed in the classroom at any time. Please leave all ammunition in your vehicle.
- Ball caps with a “bill” required while on the range
- Students are required to bring their own handgun, outside waistband duty belt/holster, magazine pouch, and 2-3 magazines for semi-auto firearms. It is strongly recommended that you bring a firearm with a minimum barrel length of 4″ to this class. Any compact firearm utilized in this class can severely hinder your ability to successfully complete the requirements.
- 150-200 rounds of ammunition (Can be purchased PRIOR to day of the class -No steel cased ammo permitted)
- Eye and ear protection
- Photo ID (driver license, state-issued ID, or passport)
- Must be a United States citizen
- Must be at least 18 years of age
- Not under indictment or been convicted of a felony in the U.S. or elsewhere
- Not convicted of misdemeanor domestic violence
- Not under court order (i.e. order of protection, harassment, etc.)
- Not a fugitive from justice
- Not a user of or addicted to any controlled substance
- Not been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Forces
- Have never renounced U.S. citizenship
- Do not suffer from mental illness and have not been adjudicated mentally incompetent or committed to a mental institution